Philosophical Multicore

Sometimes controversial, sometimes fallacious, sometimes thought-provoking, and always fun.

One One Ten

Posted by Michael Dickens on January 1, 2010

In case you didn’t notice, it’s 2010 now.

5 Responses to “One One Ten”

  1. LRFLEW said

    Now for the question for the year… Is it “Two thousand ten” or “Twenty ten”?

    • “Twenty ten” is more efficient.

      • LRFLEW said

        True, but who’s going to break a habit. I mean, when it became inefficient to use QWERTY, did we stop?

      • One of us did.

      • Matt said

        Unfortunately there are not any widespread doomsday theories for 2010. You see, I never used to like those theories, but now I love them because this really cute girl I know also happens to be extremely naive :]
        There are the usual things, of course. She has asked me about the dangers of 2012, swine flu, 99942 Apophis, etc but then she also manages to find ways to worry about the strangest things. One day we were shopping together at a bookstore (she wanted to get into game design and I was helping) and I she saw this picture of the inside of the Large Hadron Collider and asked me about it, so I explained what little I knew about it. Few days later and it turns out she doesn’t want to look at her astronomy books anymore. She had developed a fear of black holes. I tried to explain to her that there were no black holes anywhere near enough to us to pose any threat. There really wasn’t any convincing her that we could be sure of that though. Eventually she said “What if scientists make a black hole?” I tried my best to explain why that just didn’t make sense but she didn’t get it. Eventually she started asking me about that black hole machine I had told her about before. I was so confused, but when I finally figured out that she meant the Large Hadron Collider I wasn’t able to stop what happened next. I just stood there expressionless for a bit, then a smile crept onto my face despite my best efforts, then I laughed at her right to her face. I really wasn’t able to stop it, I swear! Anyways, she’s supposedly forgiven me since but I think she’s still mad and I wish there was some new doomsday prophecy so that she would forget about the laughing and come ask my expert opinion and holy crap did I just write for fifteen minutes in the comment section of an extremely short over a week old post on a blog by someone I don’t even know?

Leave a Reply

 
