Philosophical Multicore

Sometimes controversial, sometimes fallacious, sometimes thought-provoking, and always fun.

To Whom Am I Ultimately Grateful?

Posted by Michael Dickens on September 24, 2009

I was just reading this blog post, which asked me an interesting question.

We often reference and feel the succor that God offers us in times of grief and pain, but I can honestly say that I’m as grateful for my belief in God when I’m experiencing extreme joy as when crippled by pain. And I mean really grateful, because if I didn’t have a God to whom I could send up my gratitude that is so far beyond my ability to comprehend or grasp, I’m not sure I’d know what to do with the intensity of that emotion. It feels like I would just explode.

When I’m that grateful, I tell people about it. But I like your strategy here. If I’m alone with no one to express my gratitude to, I can create an imaginary friend and then tell him about how grateful I am. Sounds great! But unlike this fellow, I realize that my friend is only imaginary.

4 Responses to “To Whom Am I Ultimately Grateful?”

  1. John Shore said

    Yes. You’re better.

    • I’m not sure what you mean by that. Are you implying that I am saying that I’m better than you? Because I’m not. It’s just that my belief is better than your belief. (I sound like a six-year-old, don’t I.)

      • Matt said

        Yes Michael, you do. But that’s okay, because from your lofty perch, it makes perfect sense that Christianity looks so silly. I mean seriously! Those people believe in a magical invisible sky daddy who loves them and will burn them forever if they don’t do as he says!

        But a true intellectual, regardless of religious beliefs, will attempt to look at it from the other point of view. I mean, seriously! Those atheists actually believe that there are these magical forces that bind the universe together (gravity, strong electromagnetic force, etc.) and that the whole universe which is so extremely large was once so extremely small, and so many other foolish, incredulous things! And to top it all off they don’t even know why any of these rules or things exist, at least Christians have a beginning for the universe.

        You can argue that there are reasons behind what you believe, that these facts were concluded not from old desert scribblings, but from the scientific process, but the point is that people believe things that from an outside view seem amazing because the universe is just that! It’s incredible! I mean, think about it. Things exist! Isn’t that weird!?

      • But the difference is, we actually have evidence for the existence of these “magical forces”; some of the ideas that science has come up with may seem outrageous to someone from a foreign culture, but the fact is that it’s what the evidence supports. The silly part isn’t believing in the seemingly unbelievable, but is believing in things that are not supported by evidence.

        Atheists have no explanation for why the fundamental forces exist; but how is making up a beginning any better than simply not knowing?

        The universe is rather amazing. I would not go so far as to say that it is incredible, but it certainly is weird that things are the way they are. But we also should ask ourselves, if things were different, wouldn’t we still find it weird that things were the way they were? Whenever things are one way, we can always wonder why they weren’t a different way.

        We are just very amazeful* creatures, aren’t we.

        *full of amazement

Leave a Reply

 
