Philosophical Multicore

Sometimes controversial, sometimes fallacious, sometimes thought-provoking, and always fun.

Wishbone

Posted by Michael Dickens on December 5, 2008

My brother and I just broke a wishbone. He won. But before he did, I wished to lose. So who really won? It is possible that my wish came true for a reason other than my wishing it. But if both people wish to lose, then no matter who wins, that person’s wish is not coming true. (If I had won, my wish would not have worked.)

Therefore, wishbones do not work. By similar logic, it is possible to disprove any sort of wish.

One Response to “Wishbone”

  1. Phynnboi said

    I suppose if the choice is between breaking reality and granting your wish, reality must be preserved. 😉

Leave a Reply

 
