Philosophical Multicore

Sometimes controversial, sometimes fallacious, sometimes thought-provoking, and always fun.

MTGAP's Guide to the World of Warcraft Auction House (and money)

Posted by Michael Dickens on March 11, 2008

There are many people out there who are better at making money in the Auction House. But it always pains me when I see people *gasp* FARMING for mount money!!! Before level 60, it’s very difficult to farm anything. The only way to truly make money (that I know of) below the high 50’s is the Auction House. I may not be as good as some at working the Auction House, but at least I always have had money when I needed it, without ever farming.

ADDONS
Go to auctioneeraddon.com and download the Auctioneer Addon. It’s very useful for using the auction house.


Level 1 of the Auction House: SELLING GOODS

You don’t have to work the Auction House to make money, although I find it very effective. Create a new character, and take him to any major city. For Horde the Undercity is best: it’s not too crowded. I don’t play Alliance, but the equivalent of the Undercity is where you should go probably (I would guess Darnassus). Whenever you get ANY WHITE ITEM OR HIGHER that you aren’t using on one of your main characters, send it to your auction character that you have planted at the major city. Then you can sell it. ALWAYS sell things for the longest period of time.
I will assume that you have the Auctioneer Addon. If you do, you can use Appraiser to sell stuff. The appraiser tab automatically lists every item in your inventory. Click something, and Auctioneer will suggest a price. You can accept the price, or decide to change it if you think it should be higher or lower. If you’re really unsure of the price and Appraiser doesn’t know how to price it, you can search for the item on wow.allakhazam.com and it will suggest a pretty accurate price.

WHAT IF YOU CAN’T SELL SOMETHING???
I would suggest that if an item doesn’t sell after 3 tries, and it’s not equippable, lower the price by about 10%. If it still doesn’t sell, lower it by about 10% again. Continue to do so until it sells. The thing with equippable items is that people are less likely to want them, so if they don’t sell at first, be patient. But if you can’t sell something after 5 or 6 tries, start to lower the price.

BUYING STUFF
If you want to buy something, Auctioneer gives you a percentage. This is what Auctioneer thinks it’s worth based on that item’s average price. For instance, if it says it’s 50%, it’s costs 50% less than its estimated value. Warning: that’s not always right. Remember to use common sense. Don’t always trust Auctioneer. But in general, if you see something that’s less than 60%, buy it, and then resell it for more. You can also turn on Bottomscanner (in the Bottomscanner tab) and it will automatically ask you if you want to bid on or buyout things.

MORE STUFF: DAILY QUESTS (70s only)
Once you get your flying mount, you get a wide variety of daily quests. Here’s my review of them.
SHA’TARI SKYGUARD: These guys are in the southeast of Terokkar Forest. You can get two quests from them: Fires over Skettis and Escape from Skettis. (I’m not going to explain how the quests work, that’s what wowhead.com is for. I’m just going to give my opinion on which are best for money.) Escape from Skettis is pretty fast, but sometimes it takes a while to find the actual guy. If you find him, do it, or get a group for it. It only takes one person, but people usually get groups. That helps you find it faster. You should always do Fires over Skettis because it’s very easy.
OGRI’LA: You have to get attuned for these, but it’s worth it. There are 4 quests: Banish More Demons, the bombing quest that I can’t remember the name of, Wrangle More Aether Rays, and The Relic’s Emanation. The first 2 can be done at the same time, and you can do them faster with a group. If you do them at the same time it’s an efficient way to make 20g, plus you can get some loot. The Relic’s Emanation takes about 2 minutes, but you have to pay attention while doing it. It’s probably the most efficient daily quest. The Aether Rays one takes a bit longer, and if I can’t play for very long, I don’t do it.
WHAT IF I ONLY HAVE 10 MINUTES?
Go to Ogri’la and do The Relic’s Emanation, or do Fires Over Skettis.
WHAT IF I ONLY HAVE 20 MINUTES?
Go to Ogri’la and do Banish More Demons and the bombing quest.
WHAT IF I HAVE GOBS OF TIME?
Get attuned for NETHERWING DAILIES. These take longer, and you get the same amount of money, but you get to kill stuff so you get money from that. I recommend these if you have skinning; you get TONS of knothide leather from the Nethermine Flayers. These quests also have a pretty big payoff when you remember that you’re playing this game not to make virtual gold, but to have fun: WHEN YOU GET EXALTED, YOU GET A REALLY COOL MOUNT. Not only is it cool, but it’s a bit of a symbol of “look at me, I’m rich, and exalted with Netherwing, aren’t I great.” Getting exalted with Netherwing takes a while, so it’s a real treat when you finally get your mount. Plus, you get money along the way.
The thing about Netherwing dailies is that I lied when I said it wasn’t efficient. You can do 4 quests at once: the one where you kill Nethermine Flayers and Ravagers, the one where you collect Netherwing Crystals, the gathering profession one, and the one where you get boxes, plus a repeatable quest to get Netherwing Eggs, but those are pretty rare. It’s actually pretty efficient because you can do 4 quests at once, but it takes 1 to 2 hours to finish them, depending on drop rate and how fast you kill stuff.

Well, that’s my guide to making money. I currently have 1500g on my auctioneer and 2500g on my level 70, and I bought my epic flying mount a couple months ago with 1000g left over. (I actually got the 5200g required, then borrowed 800g from a friend so I’d have 800g to buy auctions with, and I made money quickly and paid back my friend within 2 weeks.) I’m no gold farmer, but I’ve never been unable to afford my repair bill.

Thanks to Phandra for loaning me 800g. (He is the one person I know who’s better at making money than I am.)

Leave a Reply

 
