Philosophical Multicore

Sometimes controversial, sometimes fallacious, sometimes thought-provoking, and always fun.

Question of the Week: if you get on a train…

Posted by Michael Dickens on June 25, 2007

If you get on a train traveling 80 miles per hour north, and I get on a train traveling 314 kilometers per hour southwest, and I shout to you after we have both been traveling for 2 minutes, how long will I have to wait to hear a return shout? Assume that you respond 5 seconds after you hear me. Also assume that we are in a vacuum, because sound travels fastest there.

6 Responses to “Question of the Week: if you get on a train…”

  1. Bill said

    Uh, sound doesn’t travel in a vacuum at all so you’re going to have to wait a long time.

    Also, if we were in a vacuum then we would have exploded or suffocated or something.

  2. mtgap said

    Okay, you got it.

    Now assume that they are underwater at 100 degrees Celsius. How long would I have to wait for a return shout?

  3. Bill said

    I don’t think I would be able to hear you since my ears would have boiled away along with the rest of my flesh.

  4. Scott said

    well the train would have never gotten anywhere close to a vacuum becausse the closest one is like 20 million lightyears away

  5. MTGAP said

    Actually, the nearest vacuum is just, oh, maybe 10 miles away. Something like that. No more than 30 miles.

  6. Bill said

    I have a vacuum right here in my closet!

Leave a Reply

 
