Philosophical Multicore

Sometimes controversial, sometimes fallacious, sometimes thought-provoking, and always fun.

Learning More

Posted by Michael Dickens on January 20, 2010

Yesterday I was partaking in a discussion, and it drifted to the topic of communism. I was a little bit frustrated after a couple of people made some uninformed comments (“it looks great on paper, but has never worked”). Then, I realized that I don’t really know all that much about communism. So that day, I decided that I would read the Manifesto of the Communist Party.

This is not the only time that something like this has happened. I frequently find myself in situations in which I observe other people who don’t really seem to know much about a topic, but then I notice that I don’t know much either. As of now, I am taking these opportunities to teach myself something.

My advice to you for today is: if you find that you are ignorant of some subject, then learn about it. You’re never too old to stop learning.

2 Responses to “Learning More”

  1. phynnboi said

    There are many such things, but I’d need to be able to read WAY faster to study them all!

  2. Matt said

    It’s times like this that I wish I had good memory skills…

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 450 other followers

