Philosophical Multicore

Sometimes controversial, sometimes fallacious, sometimes thought-provoking, and always fun.

Why don't I commit murder?

Posted by Michael Dickens on May 27, 2009

This question was brought up by the brilliant cdk007.

Why do I not commit murder? I’m a godless heathen, so what’s stopping me?

1. The law. I’d rather not go to jail. But really, I could probably get away with murder if I really wanted to.
2. Emotional difficulty. I’m not sure I would have the willpower to murder someone. Not killing people is hard-wired into my brain.
3. My conscience. I would feel very guilty if I killed someone. This guilt probably evolved due to humans being social creatures.*
4. I live with people. When I kill people, it disrupts my connection to society. I rely on society for food, shelter, warmth, and the great majority of life’s pleasures. If I start killing people, I will be disconnected from society. Who wants to be with a murderer?

*I could talk more about morality and evolution, but cdk007 is going to release a video on that topic soon, and he will probably say it better than me.

Why don’t YOU commit murder?

One Response to “Why don't I commit murder?”

  1. LRFLEW said

    Because you’re not in the directory. (oh snap)

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 450 other followers

